UP MLC elections: BJP clean sweep in west UP; despite SP-RLD alliance and farmer protest

Uttar PradeshUP MLC elections: BJP clean sweep in west UP; despite SP-RLD alliance...


Lucknow: Like the assembly elections 2022, in the Uttar Pradesh MLC elections, the BJP once again did well in the Jatland of western Uttar Pradesh. BJP has clean swept by winning all the 6 MLC seats of western UP amid SP-RLD alliance and farmer anger against the BJP govt. The seat of Meerut-Ghaziabad which was in the possession of SP till now, that seat has also been won by BJP this time.

Dharmendra Bhardwaj of BJP defeated Sunil Rohta of RLD in the Meerut-Ghaziabad seat.

In the assembly elections in which West UP, the BJP had won 40 out of 71 seats. The BJP did a clean sweep in the MLC elections on the same soil of farmers and Jats. The farmers’ agitation, maha panchayats, and heavy protests due to agricultural laws also did not affect the victory of the BJP.

Read more: UP MLC elections: BJP won 33 seats, lost Varanasi; SP reduced to zero

Narendra Bhati of Bulandshahr won unopposed

In the elections held in the six MLC seats of West UP, the alliance contested the elections with full force in front of the BJP. Put your candidates on each seat. RLD fielded candidates in Bulandshahr, Meerut. In the Bulandshahr seat, the RLD candidate already withdrew his nomination and BJP’s Narendra Bhati won unopposed. Voting took place on 5 seats, these seats were also won by BJP.

Muzaffarnagar’s Vandana Verma won MLC election on a BJP ticket

Dharmendra Bhardwaj of BJP defeated Sunil Rohta of RLD in the Meerut-Ghaziabad seat. Muzaffarnagar-Saharanpur seat BJP’s Vandana Verma defeated SP’s Mohd. Defeated Arif. Vandana Verma is a strong face in politics. She herself has been the chairman of the District Co-operative Bank twice. Also, Vandana is the sister-in-law of Shashank Shekhar, who was the cabinet secretary in the BSP government. Satyapal Saini, who was a Lok Sabha MP from BJP in 2014 in the Moradabad-Bijnor seat, defeated Ajay Pratap Singh of SP.

Satyapal Singh Saini won the election on a BJP ticket from Moradabad, Dr. Sudhir Gupta won from the Pilibhit seat

In the Rampur-Bareilly seat, Kunwar Maharaj Singh of BJP defeated Mashkoor Ahmed of SP. Kunwar Maharaj Singh has won five times directly as an MLA and has also been made a minister. Pilibhit – Dr. Sudhir Gupta of BJP defeated Amit Kumar of SP in the Shahjahanpur seat.

SP and RLD performance show their meek surrender in the MLC elections. However, MLC election results were traditionally dominated by the incumbent government.

Read mor: Politics: BJP will now 66 in the Upper house of UP

Share post:



More like this

IMD predicts relief from heatwave conditions in coming days

But temperature shoots up to 45 degrees Celsius in...

ONDC to hit 1 lakh daily orders in coming months

The Open Network for Digital Commerce (ONDC) has ideas to record...

Violence erupts in Manipur again, curfew reimposed

Shah tells CM to take stern action against law...

Infosys introduces AI-first release Topaz

Software company Infosys on 23 May 2023 launched Topaz,...