Nitish Kumar’s political shift prompts first pushback against RJD in Bihar assembly

NewsNitish Kumar's political shift prompts first pushback against RJD in Bihar assembly


Assembly Speaker Awadh Bihari Choudhary is a representative of the RJD, and some BJP leaders have informed the assembly secretary that they want to oust him by presenting a no-confidence motion, after Nitish Kumar’s decision to join the NDA alliance as chief minister.

The following individuals and groups have taken the initiative to request the dismissal of Awadh Bihari Choudhary: Nand Kishore Yadav, Tarkishore Prasad, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Vinay Kumar Choudhary of the JD(U), Ratnesh Sada, and other members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from the NDA coalition.

Ending days of uncertainty, Nitish Kumar severed ties with the RJD and the Congress, members of the Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) government, following Sunday’s oath as Chief Minister of the NDA coalition for the record ninth time.

After the JD(U) supremo severed ties with the BJP in August 2022 over allegations that he wanted to “split” his party, he joined the Mahagathbandhan.

The NDA currently has 128 assembly members, six more than the necessary majority, as a result of this development. Mahathbandhan members include 114 lawmakers from the RJD, Congress, and Left parties.

In Bihar’s 243-seat legislature, the RJD has the most representation with 79 MPs. After the JD(U) with 45 and the Congress with 19, the BJP follows with 78.

The Left Party has 16 representatives, more than HAM’s 4 and AIMIM’s 1. There is another independent who serves in the House.

Rumor has it that the INDIA group’s failure to work together on the issue, particularly with the Congress, is the primary motivation for this move. Party leaders blasted the Congress for delaying seat-sharing talks and for not presenting Nitish Kumar as the front-runner of the opposition coalition.

Nitish Kumar, a key member in the anti-BJP alliance that will contest the next Lok Sabha elections, was the driving force behind efforts to bring together the anti-BJP factions. In subsequent sessions, however, the Congress’s dominance in the coalition eclipsed Nitish’s.

In an apparent effort to establish his dominance over the organization, Kumar removed Lalan Singh from his post as JD(U) president last year, sparking rumors of a split. 

The BJP and Nitish Kumar’s JDU were victorious in the 2019 Bihar Lok Sabha elections. The BJP is well-positioned to benefit from the realignment now that Nitish has rejoined the NDA and the momentum around the Bharat Ratna to Karpoori Thakur is in their favour.

Speculation started circulating that former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur may switch parties after the Bharatiya Janata Party awarded India’s highest civilian accolade, the Bharat Ratna, on him. The respected communist Thakur, who served as Chief Minister twice in the 1970s, was responsible for implementing the controversial alcohol prohibition legislation of the state. The enduring legacy of Karpoori Thakur, who was deeply respected as “Jan Nayak” or the “leader of the people,” is a priceless resource for contemporary political factions.

Despite having served through five previous handovers since 1996, Nitish Kumar is likely to remain in his present position as Chief Minister for a record ninth time. To this day, he remains Bihar’s most visible political leader.

Share post:



More like this

Inspiring Indians Who Aspire to Achieve Greatness and Defining Success

India, a country of various cultures and traditions, has...

Ranneeti: Balakot & Beyond—Lara and Jimmy reveal the upcoming show

Ranneeti will delve into lesser-known facets, tactics, and difficulties...

In Jammu, PM Modi unveils a number of development initiatives

According to top Prime Minister Modi, Article 370 stands...

Why Manoj Jarange-Patil is refusing to end his hunger strike

Rather than a special reservation for Marathas, Manoj Jarange-Patil...