Congress leader Pramod Krishnan appeals to opposition change decision

NationalCongress leader Pramod Krishnan appeals to opposition change decision


Opposition has decided to boycott the event saying that instead of the Prime Minister, the President, head of the Constitution, should unveil it.

New Delhi: At a time when 20 opposition parties, including the Congress, have decided to boycott the inauguration of the Parliament building, a different view has emerged from Congress leader Acharya Pramod Krishnan, a well-known critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Nevertheless, the opposition parties said that since the President of India is the head of the Constitution and Parliament, it should be inaugurated by the President.

According to the Constitution, Parliament consists of the President, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, so inauguration of the Parliament building by the Prime Minister is a violation of the Constitution, the opposition parties said.

The Congress, the AIUDF, the DKM, the AamAadmi Party, Shiv Sena (UBT), the Samajwadi Party, the Left parties, the Trinamool Congress, the Janata Dal (United), the RJD, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and others have decided to the boycott the event.

On the other hand, Krishnan appealed to all the opposition parties to roll back their decision to boycott the event, because if the Prime Minister of India does not inaugurate it, the Prime Minister of Pakistan won’t do that.

The opposition has the right to criticise the Modi’s policies, but they do not have the privilege to oppose such an occasion which is meant for the nation, he said.

The Parliament building does not belong to any political party, it belongs to the nation, Krishnan said.

He told agencies that he would appeal to the opposition parties to change their decision, since Modi is the Prime Minister of the entire country.

They further said that the Prime Minister had chosen the birth anniversary of VD Savarkar to inaugurate the Parliament building.

The present Parliament building sits 543 Lok Sabha members and 250 Rajya Sabha members. The new building has the capacity to accommodate 888 Lok Sabha members and 384 RS members.

Share post:



More like this

Billionaire Infosys founder to double its $1 billion in investments

Narayan Murthy, the founder of Infosys has plans to...

RBI’s idea to take back Rs 2,000 notes to ease short-term rates

The decision by the Reserve Bank of India to...

MP-MLA court finds Azam Khan not guilty in hate speech case

Lucknow: There was a piece of good news for...