30 opposition MPs are suspended by the Lok Sabha Speaker for the balance of the Winter Session

News30 opposition MPs are suspended by the Lok Sabha Speaker for the...


The action was taken in response to protests by MPs inside the House, where they held placards calling for Union Home Minister Amit Shah to issue a statement.

The opposition began an all-out offensive against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Day 11 of the Winter Session of Parliament, demanding a thorough investigation and a statement from Home Minister Amit Shah. Regarding the security breach issue, turbulent scenes were seen in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.  Amid the opposition’s chants of “BJP jawab do, sadn se bhagna bnd kro,” Thirty of the MPs were suspended for the duration of the session, and three MPs were suspended while the Privileges Committee was still reviewing their reports.

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, a seasoned member of a Congress was one of the thirty opposition MPs suspended by Speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla suspended on Monday for the duration of the Winter Session of Parliament. The move was made in response to protests by Members of Parliament calling for a statement from Union Home Minister Amit Shah regarding the security breach in the Lok Sabha.

Days earlier, 13 MPs—nine of whom are from the Congress—were suspended for making signs and acting in an unruly manner. This new action follows that suspension.

Since Wednesday of last week, a unified opposition has been demanding statements from Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, leading to a series of adjournments.

 A parliament debate was not necessary, Prime minister Modi said in an interview on Saturday but rather than investigation into the accident. In response to the statement, the Congress charged that he was trying to avoid a debate on the matter because the BJP wanted to shield its MP Pratap Simha, whose office had given the two intruders who caused a commotion inside the Lok Sabha access passes.

The 13 Lok Sabha MPs who were suspended had been demanded to be reinstated by the opposition. On the steps of the Parliament today, a few of them demonstrated with signs.

With placards in hand, Congress MPs Mohammed Jawaid, Hibi Eden, Benny Behanan, Dean Kuriakose, and S Venkatesan of the CPI (M) protested against the government while seated on the steps of Makar Dwar of Parliament.

It hasn’t even been four months since you (BJP leaders) praised the new Parliament building and said it was fully secure. What could be a bigger breach? Therefore, the Congress MP from Kishenganj had advised that either the PM or the Home Minister (Amit Shah) should make a statement in the House.

Dayanidhi Maran of the DMK and T. R. Baalu of the TMC is among the MPs suspended today. K Jayakumar, Vijay Vasanth, and Abdul Khaleque—three more MPs—were suspended for scaling the Speaker’s podium. A motion about their suspension was made by Parliament Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi, and it passed by voice vote. The Lok Sabha’s daily session was adjourned.

Share post:



More like this

Release date for “Amar Singh Chamkila,” starring Diljit and Parineeti

Upcoming film of Imtiaz Ali, “Amar Singh Chamkila,” starring...

NIA given control of the Bengaluru café explosion investigation

News agencies reported that the National Investigation Agency has...

Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi: Santhan, a freed prisoner, passes away in a hospital

Santhan, the assassination of Rajiv Gandhi convicted man, had...

PM’s visit to Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra on February 27 & 28

Schedule for PM Modi’s visit to Kerala, Tamil Nadu,...