No Congress MP in Rajya Sabha from 17 states and UTs this yr

NationalNo Congress MP in Rajya Sabha from 17 states and UTs this...


No Congress MP in Rajya Sabha from 17 states and UTs this yr

New Delhi: The recent assembly elections in the five states has not only brought bad news for state Congress but its ripple effect can be seen on the power of the Congress in the Upper House of the Parliament as well. After the recent elections to the Rajya Sabha, the strength of the Congress in the Upper House of Parliament will weaken further. Apart from this, the worrying thing for Congress is that it will not have any representation in the Rajya Sabha from the 17 states and union territories of the country.

Read also: Now, Congress and BJP spar over religious festivals in MP

At the end of March this year, the Congress had 33 MPs in the Rajya Sabha. Out of this, 4 MPs have retired after completing their term. These include AK Antony, Pratap Singh Bajwa, Shamsher Singh Dulo. While the tenure of 9 more Rajya Sabha members of Congress will end in June and July. The retiring MPs include P Chidambaram, Ambika Soni, Jairam Ramesh, Anand Sharma, Vivek Tankha, and Kapil Sibal.

After the elections, the tally of Congress will come down to 30. This will be the lowest figure of Congress in the history of Rajya Sabha so far. The Congress expects the DMK to give it 1 out of 6 seats in Tamil Nadu. In this way the kangreska figure can be 31.

But the most worrying picture for the Congress comes from big states like Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha which will now have zero representation of Congress in Rajya Sabha. Apart from this, from Punjab where Congress was in power till a few months ago, now not a single Congress MP will be able to go to Rajya Sabha. In Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Delhi, Telangana and Goa, the Congress account will also be zero.

Apart from this, it will be for the first time that even from 8 states of the Northeast, Congress will be cleared in the Rajya Sabha. These are states.Sikkim, Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura. Let us inform that former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh was an MP from Rajya Sabha.

Read also: Congress’s Kashmir dilemma

Congress will have 30 or 31 MPs after the recent Rajya Sabha elections, the maximum number of MPs will be from Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, where the party is in power, Congress will get 5-5 MPs from Rajasthan and Karnataka, while Congress will get 4 MPs from Chhattisgarh. While Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Gujarat will send three MP’s each to the Rajya Sabha. Two-two MPs from West Bengal and Haryana will reach to Rajya Sabha on behalf of Congress. One Congress leader each from Bihar, Kerala and Jharkhand will reach to the Rajya Sabha.

Share post:



More like this

Vi makes customer onboarding convenient with industry-first ‘Self-KYC’ launch

Self KYC process is Simple, Convenient, Quick, Safe and...

Bajaj Housing Finance Whatsapp Home Loan Offer:


MG Sewa supports women empowerment with NGO ‘Red Brigade’

Carmaker presented Hector SUV to the NGO to strengthen...