Above 60% of people voted in Manipur Assembly elections

ManipurAbove 60% of people voted in Manipur Assembly elections


Above 60% of people voted in Manipur Assembly elections

On Saturday, Manipur has recorded a voter turnout of 67.77 percent till 3 pm. This is as per the official information that has been released by the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur. Chandel registered 70.30 percent, Jiribam documented 67.80 percent, Thoubal registered 67.17 percent turnout as of 3 pm on Saturday.

Manipur Assembly election is in the second and last phase today. People in the state were called upon by the Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to vote in huge numbers. Modi had tweeted on Twitter about the same. He mentioned how today marks the second phase of the assembly elections in Manipur and thus, he invited more voters to celebrate the festival of democracy by casting their votes in different polling constituencies.

Manipur Assembly polls: Over 40% voter turnout till noon (2nd Ld)

The last phase of the Manipur Assembly Elections has started at 7 am today and this stage will select between 92 candidates in 22 constituencies all over 6 districts. This year, the areas that are in focus are the Thoubal district and the Naga-dominated hills which are facing quite a tough competition to the BJP from its current rule.

Apurvi Chandela-Ravi Kumar win bronze medal

As per official data, a total of 8.38 lakh people are voters and can cast their vote in this phase in the districts of Thoubal, Chandel, Ukhrul, Senpati, Tamenglong, and Jiribam.

The BJP has nominated 22 candidates, which are followed by Congress (18), National People’s Party (11), Janata Dal (United), and Naga People’s Front (10 each).

1,247 polling stations have been set up for the polls that lasted till 4pm today.

The voters who are coronavirus positive or are under quarantine were allowed to give their votes in the final hour of the voting process, which is between 3pm to 4pm of the polling. The Manipur Assembly elections results will be announced on 10 March this year. Campaigning has come to a conclusion on 3 March this year for the second phase of the Manipur assembly elections.

Young voters came in huge numbers and when asked one of them the reason for voting, he said that by casting his vote, he wants the political leaders to address the unemployment issue, which is the main issue in the state. 

In another report, the High Court of Manipur had informed that all the voters above 18 years of age in Heirok constituency of Thoubal district will have to give 2 separate documents such as proof of birth date at the polling station. There were different counters for verification that were set up in all the polling booths in that constituency so that no challenge occurs to the other voters.

In the previous 2017 Manipur Assembly elections, Congress won as the single huge party by 28 seats. This was followed by the BJP which got 21 seats. The National People’s Party (NPP) and Naga People’s Front (NPF) had got four seats each while the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) was able to get only one constituency. BJP gained 36.28 percent vote share while Congress received 35.11 percent of the entire vote. Afterward, BJP made all the parties NPP, NPF, and LJP come together to set up the government under the oversight of N Biren Singh.

Share post:



More like this

Unique Vacation Spots You Must Visit!

Lifestyle Desk - Travellers always looking for a unique...

Explore Malaysia’s Spectacular Attractions!

Lifestyle Desk - Malaysia is home to some of...

Places to Visit in Visakhapatnam!

Lifestyle Desk - Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister YS Jagan...