UP MLC Election Results: Akhilesh’s friend and coterie lost in their strongholds

PoliticsUP MLC Election Results: Akhilesh's friend and coterie lost in their strongholds


Lucknow: UP MLC Election Results: The Samajwadi Party could not win a single seat in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. On the other hand his friends and coterie and special friends have suffered a crushing defeat in the MLC elections. While Santosh Yadav (Sunny), a close aide of Akhilesh Yadav, was defeated by Subhash Yaduvansh of BJP, Rajesh Yadav from Barabanki and Sunil Yadav Sajan from Lucknow-Unnao seat also lost the elections. Apart from this, Anand Bhadauria, who was close to Akhilesh, did not contest the MLC elections in fear of defeat, while UdayVeer close confidant of SP chief, could not even manage to file his nomination. There were 20 seats in the MLC elections, where the SP got just less than 30 percent of the votes, that is, in more than twenty seats, the Samajwadi Party remained out of the fight.

Read More: UP MLC elections: BJP won 33 seats, lost Varanasi; SP reduced to zero

Akhilesh’s confidants and kitchen cabinet members also lost

The most interesting election was for the seat of Basti-Sant Kabir Nagar-Siddharth Nagar seat. On one hand, outgoing MLC member Santosh Yadav alias Sunny was contesting from this seat on behalf of SP and on the other hand, BJP fielded its organisation state minister Subhash Yaduvansh. The fight of BJP organization leader Subhash Yaduvansh against Sunny, a member of Akhilesh Yadav’s kitchen coterie, was considered very difficult.

In Uttar Pradesh, this seat has the maximum number of 6401 voters, out of which Yadav and Muslim voters are the largest. The SP was confident of victory because of its Muslim-Yadav equation and Ram Prasad Chaudhary’s trusted Kurmi vote. At the same time, for Subhash Yaduvansh, this challenge was also big because in Basti, the Bharatiya Janata Party had lost 4 out of 5 seats in the assembly. Cabinet minister Satish Dwivedi and Hindu Vahini leader Raghavendra Singh also lost elections in Siddharthnagar.

In this seat, where BJP had seven MLAs, 6 MLAs were also from SP. In such a situation, the election was very challenging for Subhash Yaduvansh. Subhash, who was the state president of BJP Yuva Morcha and defying all caste equations, won the election by 4280 votes. While Subhash Yaduvansh got 5167 votes in this election, Santosh Sunny Yadav of SP, who was close to Akhilesh, got only 887 votes.

Read More: Akhilesh Yadav attacks Yogi govt over law & order and MLC elections in UP

MLC election results at a glance

In the election held on 36 seats of MLC, BJP has won 33 seats. BJP candidates had already won unopposed in 9 seats. On Tuesday, a total of 27 seats were counted, out of which BJP has won 24 seats.

Three seats to Independent

Out of the three seats that BJP could not win, independent candidates won 2 seats. Annapurna Singh won from Varanasi as an independent candidate, while Vikrant Singh won from Azamgarh Mau’s seat as an independent candidate. On the other hand, Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya’s Jansatta Dal candidate Akshay Pratap Singh alias Gopal has won the Pratapgarh seat.

BJP won in Akhilesh’s stronghold also

BJP has also won from Etawah-Farukhabad seat as Yadav belt with huge votes. Here Akhilesh Yadav himself took the front in favor of SP candidate Harish Yadav. However, even this effort of Akhilesh could not give victory to the SP candidate and BJP Yuva Morcha’s state president Pranshu Dutt Dwivedi won. Out of total 4139 votes, SP candidate Harish Yadav got only 657 votes, while BJP candidate got 3482 votes.

At the same time, the Samajwadi Party was also defeated from Ghazipur and Azamgarh-Mau seats. In Ghazipur, SP had supported independent Madan Yadav after the SP candidate withdrew his nomination papers. Apart from this, the family of Mukhtar Ansari was also campaigning for an independent candidate.

On the other hand, independent candidate Vikrant Singh has won from Azamgarh Mau seat. Vikrant is the son of expelled BJP MLC Yaswant Singh. When BJP did not give MLC ticket to Vikrant Singh, he became an independent candidate and his father Yashwant Singh had campaigned in his support, due to which the BJP state high command expelled Jaswant Singh for 6 years.

Read More: Yogi to build 100 beds hi-tech hospitals in UP’s 403 assemblies; to boost health infra

Share post:



More like this

Top tips to keep in mind before getting a personal loan

Read on to know some simple tips that can...

SBI receives Rs 14,000 crore deposits in the form of Rs 2000 notes

The State Bank of India, which is the largest and multinational...

Clover Organic inspired farmers to produce chemical-free Products

Organic farming will bring prosperity to the lives of...

RBI puts up a fine of Rs. 84.50 lakhs on the Central Bank of India

On Friday, 26 May 2023, the Reserve Bank of India announced...