Home Sports India defeats Bangladesh in rain-hit T20 match by 5 runs

India defeats Bangladesh in rain-hit T20 match by 5 runs

India defeats Bangladesh in rain-hit T20 match by 5 runs

Adelaide: India won against Bangladesh by five runs in a cliffhanger at Adelaide in the T20 World Cup match on Wednesday. As was expected, rain spoiled the match and curtailed it by four overs. Bangladesh won the toss and invited India to bat. Virat Kohli again showed his prowess by scoring 64 off 44 deliveries. The performance of K L Rahul who has been on a lean patch has satisfied the supporters of India. He scored 50 off 32 balls and Suryakumar Yadav made 30 runs off 16 deliveries.

As a result of the outstanding batting by the trio, India scored 186 for six at the end of 20 overs. Arshdeep Singh took two wickets by giving 38 runs.

Hasan Mahmud of Bangladesh took three wickets by giving 47 runs. He was the pick of the bowlers for Bangladesh.

The rain, however, reduced the target for Bangladesh. According to the revised target, the latter had to score 151 in 16 overs, but the team could score 145 for six and lost the match.

The final over of the match was highly dramatic. Bangladesh needed seven runs to win, but Arshdeep Singh held his nerve and led India to an edgy win by five runs. Bangladesh started off well, but because of the DLS method after the rain, they lost the plot and also a few quick wickets. Litton Das of Bangladesh was the top scorer. He made 60 runs off 27 balls.

Kohli surpassed Mahela Jaywardene to become the leading run-scorer in T20 World History.

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Azxar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh.

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mosaddek Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan (wicketkeeper), Mustafizul Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, and Taskin Ahmad.

Exit mobile version