Suspense ends, Rahul Gandhi to contest Lok Sabha elections from Raebareli

PoliticsSuspense ends, Rahul Gandhi to contest Lok Sabha elections from Raebareli


Rahul Gandhi will be contest in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2024 from Raebareli, while Kishori Lal Sharma will contest from Amethi. Both Raebareli and Amethi are key constituencies in Uttar Pradesh and are considered strongholds for the Congress Party.

The deadline for filing nominations for the elections in these areas coincided with the announcement on Friday. Voting is scheduled for May 20.

Previously, Rahul Gandhi represented Amethi but was defeated in the 2019 elections. Now, he will stand for election in Raebareli, a seat his mother, Sonia Gandhi. In 2019, Sonia Gandhi won the Raebareli seat by a margin of 1.67 lakh votes against BJP’s Dinesh Singh. Sonia Gandhi has now moved to the Rajya Sabha.

Kishori Lal Sharma, who has been a devoted member of the Congress party for over forty years, will contest from Amethi.

In the 2019 elections, Rahul Gandhi was defeated in Amethi by Smriti Irani of the BJP.

Share post:



More like this

iOS 18 Brings Exciting New Features, Know Details Here!

Apple's iOS 18 update, announced at WWDC 2024. Here...

Kamran Akmal Apologizes to Harbhajan Singh for Disrespectful Comments on Arshdeep Singh’s religion

A comment made by former Pakistani wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Akmal...

Terror Attack in Reasi Raises Security Concerns

At least ten people lost their lives when a...

How to Apply for PAN Card Online in India – A Complete Guide

Applying for a PAN card online in India has...