Another BJP legislator resigns from Tripura assembly, party

PoliticsAnother BJP legislator resigns from Tripura assembly, party


Agartala (Tripura): The ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in Tripura received another setback on Friday when a party legislator and tribal leader Burba Mohan Tripura resigned from the assembly, sources said. He is set to join the Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance Party (TIPRAP).  According to official sources, the 67-year-old legislator, accompanied by TIPRA supremo and former royal scion Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Barman submitted the resignation letter to Speaker Ratan Chakraborty.

Tripura is the fourth BJP legislator to resign from the assembly.  Three legislators Ashis Das, Sudip roy Barman and Ashis Kumar Saha have already resigned from the party and the assembly. They had differences with the then chief minister Biplap Deb. He, however, resigned from the post on May 14 after getting directive from the top leadership of the party.

Manikya Deb Barman told reporters that the legislator, together with a BJP leader and former deputy speaker Gauri Sankar Reang, joined TIPRA.  The ruling party leaders, however, did not make any comments on the issue. With Tripura’s resignation, the strength of the BJP in the 60-member assembly has declined to 35.

Share post:



More like this

Insights- Vikramaditya Singh met Disqualified Congress MLAs in Chandigarh

Congress chief Vikramaditya Singh, who stepped down as a...

x*x*x Is Equal To 2 : Solving and Prove it for x

Some equations increase people’s curiosities, inviting us to discover...

200 gunmen stormed a residence, kidnapping a Manipur police officer

Amit Singh, the additional superintendent of police for Imphal...