75th Republic Day: 1132 personnel will receive gallantry medals

News75th Republic Day: 1132 personnel will receive gallantry medals


The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) announced in a statement that sixteen gallantry and service medals have been rationalized and combined into four medals. The government unveiled the annual gallantry and service awards on the eve of the 75th Republic Day on Thursday. 1132 employees from a variety of agencies, including the police, fire department, home guards, civil defense, and corrections service, received medals for their gallantry. The president’s medal for gallantry (PMG), the medal for gallantry (GM), the president’s medal for distinguished service (PMG), and the medal for meritorious service (MSM) are the four new medals that were created by rationalizing 16 previous gallantry and service medals, according to a statement from the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

The division looks like this:

The President Medal, or the Medal for Valor Under the two categories, 227 gallantry medals—275 Medals for Gallantry and two President’s Medals for Gallantry—have been announced. Out of these 277 personnel, 133 are being awarded for bravery in Jammu and Kashmir, 119 for actions in areas affected by Left Wing Extremism (LWE), and 25 more for actions in other regions. The two PMGs are intended for Border Security Force (BSF) personnel. Medal for Meritorious Service/Medal for Distinguished Service: There will be 102 personnel awarded in the former category and 753 in the latter. Four medals each are awarded for civil defense and foreservice, and 94 medals are awarded to police.

On the other hand, of the 753 medals, 667 belong to law enforcement, 32 to the fire department, and 27 to each of civil defense and correction. The government has been working to change the gallantry and service medals in recent years. The following four medals, which were previously sixteen Gallantry/Service medals (for police, fire service, home guard, civil defense, and corrections service), have now been combined:

Medal of Gallantry (GM) and

President’s Medal for Gallantry (PMG)

Medal for Meritorious Service (MSM) and

Two PMGs have been given BSF personnel, who are members of the 15th Congo contingent of the BSF at the Moroccan Rapid Deployment Battalion (MRDB) Camp at Butembo, for their exceptional contribution to the peacekeeping mission as part of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUSCO). These personnel are among those who have been awarded gallantry medals.

Of the 277 gallantry medals, 275 have been given to 72 J&K Police officers, 18 Maharashtra officers, 26 Chhattisgarh officers, 23 Jharkhand offices, 15 Odisha officers, 8 Delhi officers, 65 CRPF officers, 21 SSB officers, and the remaining officers from the other state/UTs and CAPFs. The President’s Medal will also be awarded to three Delhi Police Special Cell Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs). The award will be given to ACP Lalit Mohan Negi and ACP Hriday Bhushan, who have played a key role in breaking several important terrorist modules.


Share post:



More like this

Prime Minister Modi travels to Varanasi to inaugurate several projects

Kashi Sansad Sanskrit Pratiyogita’s winners, and other winners of ...

Ashwini Vaishnaw is launching the annual capacity building plan

On Thursday, Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw introduced an annual...

3 New Criminal Laws Replacing IPC, CrPc, and Evidence Act Effective July 1

The 3 laws, Bharatiya Nagrik Suraksha, Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita...

The government opens four revolutionary portals

Press Sewa Portal, Navigate Bharat Portal, and National Register...