Home National Congress observers return from Karnataka to Delhi

Congress observers return from Karnataka to Delhi


Ball is in the court of party president Kharge

Bengaluru: The Congress Party’s euphoria over the victory in Karnataka assembly election has yet to die down on the one hand. Intense lobbying is going on for the post of chief minister on the other hand.

To smoothen the process for electing the chief minister, three observers appointed by the Congress high command on Monday held discussions with each legislator to know their views on who should be the chief minister.

The discussion continued at a private hotel till late Sunday night. At the meeting, the Legislature Party of Karnataka passed a one-line resolution in which they authorised Kharge to choose the new chief minister.

Afterwards, the observers returned to New Delhi to submit their report to the party president Mallikarjun Kharge. Both DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah have staked claim to the top post. Therefore, hectic lobbying is going on for it.

The Congress observers appointed by Kharge are Sushilkumar Shinde, Jitendra Singh and Deepak Babaria to hold talks with the legislators.

In-charge of Karnataka Randeep Surjewala, who was in the state, left for New Delhi along with the three observers. They are likely to meet Kharge in the evening.

Meanwhile, Kharge said that Karnataka would get a chief minister on an auspicious occasion.

According to a senior leader of the Congress, since the party takes decisions through a democratic process, it may take some time to choose a chief minister for Karnataka.

Birthday gift, says Shivakumar

Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar who turned 62 on Monday said the party’s thumping victory was a gift from the people on his birthday.

The eight-time legislator, who celebrated his 62nd birthday said, “My life is dedicated to serving the people of Karnataka.”

There is a fierce contest between Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah for the post of chief minister.

In the 224-member House, the Congress won 135 seats and the BJP 66.

Exit mobile version