Tripura CM Biplab Deb resigns, state BJP chief Manik Saha to become new CM

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb has submitted his resignation to state Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya. BJP state chief Manik Saha was likely to be the new CM.

Biplab Deb

New Delhi: Tripura News: Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb has submitted his resignation to the state Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya. Former Tripura CM Biplab said that to strengthen BJP's base in the state, I need to work at the grassroots level in various areas. I should work as a normal worker instead of being on the post of CM to form BJP government again in the upcoming assembly elections. For me, the party is above everything.


Recently, Biplab Kumar Dev met Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi. It is believed that Biplab Dev has resigned from his post at the behest of the party leadership. According to the information, there will be a meeting of BJP MLAs in Tripura on Saturday evening in which the name of the new CM will be decided. On behalf of the BJP leadership, Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav and BJP General Secretary Vinod Tawde will attend the meeting as observers.

Read more: Tripura govt launches new industrial investment promotion scheme


At the same time, Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav said that a lot of development work has been done in the state under the leadership of Biplab Kumar Deb who resigned as the Chief Minister. His contribution has been very impressive. He has submitted his resignation letter to the Governor. There will be a meeting of the party's legislature party in the evening. Bew leadership will be elected after the consultation with the state legislature meeting and central leadership today itself.

Assembly elections are due in Tripura next year and the resignation of Biplab Kumar Dev is being seen as another experiment of the BJP in the state. BJP has earlier experimented with changing the CM before the elections in Gujarat, Karnataka, and Uttarakhand to offset the anti-incumbency mandate. While the party has singled out state president and Rajya Sabha MP Manik Saha as the new CM face of Tripura.


Read more: Congress’s Chintin Shivir: No Congress leader will get more than two Rajya Sabha terms