Manik Saha left Congress 6 years now become BJP’s CM in Tripura

Manik Saha has been sworn in as the 11th CM of Tripura. After the resignation of Biplab Dev. Saha left the Congress and joined the BJP in 2016.

Manik Saha CM Tripura

NewDelhi: Manik Saha has been sworn in as the new CM of Tripura. He has become the 11th Chief Minister of the state. After the resignation of Biplab Dev, the BJP has entrusted this responsibility to him to offset the anti-incumbency factor. Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Saha in a simple ceremony in the glittering Durbar Hall. Saha took the oath alone as the party is yet to finalize the list of his cabinet members due to widespread alleged dissatisfaction among legislators and party functionaries after the sudden change of chief minister.

Read more: Tripura CM Biplab Deb resigns, state BJP chief Manik Saha to become new CM

In Biplab Kumar Dev's cabinet, three former ministers, including deputy chief ministers Jishnu Dev Verma and Ram Prasad Paul, and several MLAs stayed away from the swearing-in ceremony. Biplab Dev, however, attended the swearing-in ceremony along with Ratan Lal Nath and IPFT leader and former Tribal Welfare Minister Mewar Kumar Jamatia and some other MLAs and leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

After becoming the CM, Saha said, "We will go ahead with the issue of development of PM Modi and BJP. We will enhance law and order in the state along with resolving the issues of the people of Tripura. There is no political challenge for us.

Let us tell you that Saha left the Congress and joined the BJP in 2016. After joining the BJP, Manik was made the state party president in 2020 after four years. He also became the President of the Tripura Cricket Association. Saha was recently nominated to the Rajya Sabha and has now been announced as the new CM. Manik Saha is a dentist by profession and his image is considered very clean. Manik is not considered to be of any camp in BJP.

Saha left Congress and joined BJP in 2016

Manik Saha is also the President of Tripura Cricket Association. Before joining mainstream politics, he used to teach at the Tripura Medical College, Hapania. Saha left the Congress and joined the BJP in 2016. He was made the party chief in 2020 and was elected to the Rajya Sabha in March this year. After being elected as the Chief Minister, Saha said that I am a common worker of the party and will continue to do so.

After the resignation, Deb said - the party is supreme and above all

Deb resigned from his post amid fast-paced political developments in the state. He submitted his resignation to the state governor Satyadev Narayan Arya. Deb said, "The party is at the top. I am a dedicated worker of the BJP. I feel that I have done justice to the responsibility given, whether it is the post of state BJP unit president or the post of Tripura chief minister. Worked for the overall development of Tripura and ensured that there is peace for the people of the state."

BJP has done this resignation thing in many states to offset the anti-incumbency baggage. Tripura will go to the polls next year so BJP wants to stop all the infighting and speed up their pending projects in the state.

Read more: Congress’s Chintin Shivir: 50% reservation for SC / ST and OBC in Congress party